

André Lagarrigue Prize 2018

The international jury of the André Lagarrigue Prize, under the chairmanship of Reynald Pain, director of IN2P3, awarded the 2018 prize to Michel Spiro, research director emeritus at CEA. This prize will be presented on 29 November 2019 at the Auditorium of the Linear Accelerator Laboratory (LAL, CNRS / Université Paris-Sud).

Michel Spiro receives this award for the exemplary nature of his career, from both a scientific and managerial point of view. In particular, he contributed to the discovery of the intermediate bosons W and Z with the UA1 experiment at CERN. He was the initiator and spokesperson for 12 years of the EROS experiment, one of the first astroparticle experiments, which looked for dark matter in the halo of our galaxy. He also played a major role in neutrino physics with the GALLEX experiment, for which he was awarded the Philip Morris Prize in 1995. He has won several awards throughout his career including the Thibaud Prize of the Academy of Sciences of Lyon and the Félix Robin Prize of the French Society of Physics for all his works (UA1, GALLEX and EROS).

He has held several senior positions at CEA and CNRS, including Director of IN2P3 (2003-2010) and Advisor to the High Commissioner of CEA (2012-2018). Involved in numerous international institutions, he has, in particular, served as Chair of the CERN Council from 2010 to 2013. This year, he was appointed President of IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics).

Teacher at École Polytechnique and author of many popular works, Michel Spiro, like André Lagarrigue, shared his scientific knowledge with the greatest number.

Created in 2005 under the auspices of the French Physical Society (SFP), the André Lagarrigue Prize pays tribute to Professor André Lagarrigue, director of LAL from 1969 to 1975, for his major role in the discovery of neutral currents of weak interac-



tions with the Gargamelle bubble chamber at CERN, thus establishing the validity of the electroweak theory. Co-funded by CEA, CERN, École Polytechnique, IN2P3-CNRS, LAL and Université Paris-Sud, the André Lagarrigue Prize is awarded every two years.